From The Inside Out

From The Inside Out

“It’s not who we are underneath, it’s what I do that defines me. Batman Begins. I have been struggling to find my path. I’ve been trying to find my place in this world. The world is a harsh and unforgiving place sometimes. As Christians we know that the road we walk is not an easy one. We know that the path to success is not through cruelty or intimidation. We know that the ‘good guy’ doesn’t finish last because Christ just doesn’t work like that. There’s a song I’ve been listening to lately, Help Me Find It by Sidewalk Profits. I’ve been searching for my place ever since my marriage fell apart back in September. I lost so much that month to almost include my life. I felt a sense of peace and calm the months following. I knew God’s hand protected me, saved me. I knew that the Lord would light my path and everything would be taken care of. As time went on and I started a new job, started moving on with my life, it seemed that things were starting to look up. The Devil got a hold of the right people in my life and tried to once again destroy me. I watched as my life was attacked by a full frontal assault and I lost my job, and so much more. As I’ve been sitting trying to find the right path for myself, I felt the wave of anxiety flood into my mind, and I realized that it wasn’t just affecting my decision-making it was affecting everything. It changed my mood, my work ethic, and my drive to do anything other then sulk on the couch. A few days ago I was listening to the radio, KLove. I had been praying for something, anything to help me find my direction.

Help Me Find It, Sidewalk Prophets

I don’t know where to go from here
As long as I know that You are near
I’m done fighting
I’m finally letting go

 

If there’s a road I should walk
Help me find it
If I need to be still
Give me peace for the moment
Whatever Your will
Whatever Your will
Can you help me find it
Can you help me find it

 

I will wait for You
You’ve never failed before
I will wait for You

When those particular verses came up, I realized I hadn’t been making good on my promise to the Lord to give my everything and trust to God. The entire song is centered around my exact struggle. It’s funny how God has been using KLove to reach me. When the time for the next song has come up every time I’ve needed it, it’s timing has been perfect. I have realized that to find my path I needed to find calm and listen. Within a couple days I realized a potential path. I did exactly what we are taught in the Bible and I sought out Godly Counsel. It was then I realized where I needed to focus my efforts. It was amazing once I got it in my head my course seemed to clear of fog and thorns on my path. Now I’m not saying it’s clean sailing, there are particular logistics that need to be worked out, but in God all things are possible if we only believe and trust, and remain faithful.

What we do defines who we are. The content of our heart albeit good or evil can only remain hidden for so long if we hide our true intentions. They say true beauty lies within and not just on the surface. I find it truly sad to know that so many people will only judge you superficially and never give you a chance if you don’t meet the top of the attractive level. It’s a universal constant it seems. Now I’m not saying it’s not important to have an attraction to someone because sure, that’s important, but you have to be able to see more then just the surface. I think a person needs to be like an iceberg. On the surface you see only a small portion of the whole picture. I think we as Christians need to get better at looking at more then just the outside, but if we are to judge at all, judge someone by the content of their heart. If a person is going to live and love Christ we can’t underestimate the importance of that walk. You can be the most attractive woman in the world, but if you don’t follow Christ, and you are the cruelest person in the world, what difference is it that she’s pretty? The sad part about knowing someone’s heart is that it can change in an instant. Knowing the Devil is always trying to break up homes, lives, and pulls you away from God.

Don’t let yourself be pretty on the outside but black as night on the inside. Things like loyalty, honor, dignity, self-respect, love, and most of all trust and faith in the Lord, are true qualities that make you a beautiful person. Being kind and not a shallow, judgmental, liar is by far a big step in being pretty both inside and out. 1 Peter 3:3-4 “Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” Much like God who looks at the inward heart of a man so shall we. 1 Samuel 16:7 “But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” When we choose to love someone, or in fact judge someone we should remember that looks will fade away, but the splendor of the heart will remain. This is not just a euphemism, but instead can be pulled straight from scripture. 2 Corinthians 4:16 “So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.”

So when you are looking for your path, trust in the Lord with your heart. Trust that when you are faithful if something is to be used to glorify God your desires will be made true. And when you desire the love of someone of the opposite sex know that the right person will come along if we are true to the glorification of Christ. Look at the big picture and don’t make worldly decisions based on worldly expectations. Find the beauty within, and trust in the Lord. As the old saying goes, “Never Judge a Book By Its Cover.”

2 thoughts on “From The Inside Out

Leave a Reply

