Raise Your Hands

Raise Your Hands

When you finally stop struggling, stop fighting the Lord all you can do is fall to your knees and cry, raise your hands to the lord and surrender. It’s like a long battle being waged, and when that battle finally ends it’s like being reborn, loosing old flesh like a snake shedding its scales. You can only raise your hands and pray to our Father and ask for forgiveness for being lost so long. Traveling in the darkness full of monsters, ghouls, and all manner of evil creatures lurking in the blackness of night. When the light of God enters your heart, convicts you, the darkness can no longer survive so long as that light shines.

Nothing really matters anymore when you let the Lord in. The problems of the world, the problems in our hearts, are all small potatoes to the Lord. We must learn to let go of the things we cannot change and accept the things we can. Our hands are but tools for the lord, and lifting them shows God we praise him, we worship him, we have open hands ready to receive whatever the Lord has to give us.

Psalms 63:4 “Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name.” Even the great King David knew he was a servant to the Lord. A man after God’s own heart, a King over thousands, with hundreds if not more servants of his own knew he had to give praise to the Lord. 1 Timothy 2:8 “I will therefore that men pray every where, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting.” Through all things we praise the Lord, and give him Glory. Even as he was loosing everything, Job a faithful loving servant of God lifted his hands. Job 11:13 “If thou prepare thine heart, and stretch out thine hands toward him;”

 Most of my life I felt it was silly to raise my hands during worship. But after one day when my world had collapses around me, and I surrendered it all to the Lord, when I finally knew I couldn’t win the fight on my own, I acquiesced to the Lord, I laid down my problems, I rose my hands and gave it all.

I was listening to my Funky Time play list this morning. The song Party in the USA by Barden Bellas (Miley Cyrus cover) came on.

So I put my hands up
They’re playing my song, the butterflies fly away
I’m noddin’ my head like, ‘yeah’
I’m movin’ my hips like, ‘yeah’
I got my hands up, they’re playing my song”

 It dawned on me how often I would do that when a song came on that moved me. We see people doing it at concerts, in the car on our drive to work, but how often do we see people lifting their hands because they are moved by the Holy Spirit? We must to praise God more then we do our favorite songs.

“So I put my hands up

Gods moving in my heart like now,

I’m waving my hands like yeah

Bobbin my head like yeah,

I’ve got my hands up, cuz Jesus died for my soul.”

 

Praise God with your whole body. Dance for the Lord, Sing for the Lord, Praise to the Lord. 2 Samuel 6:14 “And David danced before the LORD with all his might; and David wasgirded with a linen ephod.”

 

 

One thought on “Raise Your Hands

  1. God’s “Light shines all the brighter the deeper the darkness” (Heather Davediuk Gingrich). So let us “praise the Lord. Praise God in His sanctuary; praise him in His mighty heavens. Praise Him for His acts of power; praise Him for His surpassing greatness (Psalm 150:1-2). Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

