Don’t Let Life Pass You By

Don’t Let Life Pass You By

So many times in life we miss opportunities or chances to do things we want. When opportunities in life slip through our fingers the regrets that are left behind can be powerful. It’s hard to ‘live life’ without regrets. Sometimes we regret doing things, or regret not doing things. It’s tough though struggling with your decision one way or another. We can’t let ourselves be directed by fear, or controlled by indecision.

There are a vast number of things we regret not doing, we don’t kiss the girl, we don’t sky dive, we don’t ask out that boy we like, we don’t try out for the position or ask for the raise we want. What prevents us from reaching out is fear, fear of rejection, ridicule, or failure. There are a lot of sad truths out there but we rarely swing for the fence afraid of striking out. When we are too scared to try, we will never succeed.

James 4:14 “Whereas ye know not what [shall be] on the morrow. For what [is] your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”

 Do not be foolish with the gifts God has given to you, but don’t be afraid to take risks either. To be a leader takes courage and risks. As Captain Kirk said to Captain Harriman “Risk is part of the game, you want to sit in that chair.” We only know how far we can go if we take the risks to get there. We don’t know where the frontier is and the great things we can accomplish if we don’t step out of our comfort zone. One of my favorite songs ‘What if I gave everything; by Casting Crowns’ “So afraid of what it might cost to follow you. I’d walk by faith if I could get these feet to move.”

 2 Corinthians 5:7 7 “For we walk by faith, not by sight.” If we gave it our all, our best every day, if we learn to take risks, and learned to swim beyond what we felt was far enough, fear wouldn’t control us.

In this life we only get one shot sometimes to be great, to get the girl, to get the job, to have the experience of a lifetime. We must learn to fly. Romans 8:31 “What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?” If God is on our side the worst that can happen is failure, rejection. It’s in those times we learn the most. We cannot live in fear, we cannot live in doubt, so take a chance, and see how far you can get. Greatness starts with that first step outside your door, but you have to take that chance. No time like the present. Everything in this life takes work to get. Follow by faith.

19 thoughts on “Don’t Let Life Pass You By

      1. I’m actually working on another blog post as we speak. Every blog is my own, and every photo I take is also my own. I love writing and photography. Perhaps in another life I should have been a photo journalist.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was military. Now I am looking for my place in this world again. I am headed towards the path of ministry. I don’t want to be a pastor, but suicide prevention, veterans, depression, anxiety, stuff like that.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sadly American military suffers roughly 22 veteran suicides a day. I’ve lost a lot of friends. I am using my writing talent to bridge a gap to get into ministry. For now this is my way to reach out and spread my faith, and how it’s helped me through my own tough times.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m a fashion designer by profession. But a year ago my priorities changed. I’m a writer now that dreams of seeing the better world some day and maybe inspiring someone along the way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

