When it Rains it Pours (Finding Gods Grace)

When it Rains it Pours (Findings Gods Grace)

So let me tell you about my month. It started off much like every other month, same old routine, going to work, coming home, taking care of the fur creatures I call my kids, cleaning, and trying to relax when possible. Without going to into detail as the why, the how, the when, all those other W’s, safe to say I felt a little like Job and Paul combined. In a month I was put in a place that was pretty horrible, lost my position, gave up a great deal, was put through an awful lot of mental and emotional stress. My car was damaged, and then had a major issue with mice, yes I said mice, (I live in the country) Then once I finally thought I was going to get my car back, another problem popped up, thankfully of the very few things left under warranty the thermostat was.

Every step of the way God has not let me sink under the weight of the world. With insurmountable odds financially, emotionally, and even at times physically, I have had so much negativity in my life over the last several weeks, it was hard to see any kind of light at the end of the tunnel. As it seemed that my situation would go from bad, to really bad, to holy crap bad, to My God My God why have you forsaken me. But as I kept praying, kept the faith, I never asked God why these things were happening to me? The important thing in our walk with faith is the understand that not only will we have storms from time to time, but the occasional hurricane as well. As some areas of the world are constantly hit with monsoons they know and expect the rains to come and not let up for months. Is our walk with Christ any different?

No matter how bad things got, today of all days I would see the light at the end of the tunnel. With a settlement of $365 to move forward freely in life that would be a small price to pay to have things finally go my way. But the challenge would remain, where would I get that? A guardian angel would have it in my account within 10 minutes. Then my car, with everything that went wrong the tires (being slashed) the fuel coil being damaged, then the thermostat going out, all at the same time, it seems that a lot of Jesus came my way because it looks like at most, if anything at all, I’ll have to pay $200. Not too bad considering everything that was wrong, and that’s not a sure bet right now. The important thing is the bills will miraculously get paid, the car is now fixed and ready for the long trip to Texas, it seems that many of the other obstacles I had are now behind me.

I’m not saying it’s time for open calm seas, but I’m saying God is Great. Just when it seems that the problems I would face would be more then I could manage, God as always arrives precisely when He means to and takes away the burdens quicker then they arrived.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” In this we do not know or understand that God will be watching over us always. It’s a difficult concept for our puny little human brains to wrap our heads around. No matter the folly in our hearts, our spirit should always be lifted by the Lord on high.

Lamentations 3:25-26 “The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord” It may not happen when we want or when we think it should, but the good of Gods graces come when the time is right. We must learn to quiet ourselves and understand it’s beyond us. We always want to be in control, but we aren’t in control of much. If we think about it, we aren’t much different then Bane and John Daggett from Dark Knight Rises. Daggett is upset that things haven’t gone according to the plan. Or, was it the plan? It was his plan and he didn’t like it when it didn’t go his way.

“Bane: Our plan is proceeding as expected.

John Daggett: Oh really? Do *I* look like I’m running Wayne Enterprises right now? Your hit, on the stock exchange, it didn’t work, my friend! And now you have my construction crews going around the city at 24 hours a day! How exactly is that supposed to help my company absorb Wayne’s?

Bane: [to Stryver] Leave us!

John Daggett: No! You stay here, I’m in charge!

Bane: [puts his hand on Daggett’s shoulder] Do you *feel* in charge?”

Don’t we all feel that way? Isn’t it funny when God more or less asks us the same thing? Do we really feel in charge of our lives? Of course not, and when we really feel the world spinning out of control, that’s because we feel we’ve lost that edge, that purpose or place, our power. Just remember who has all the power. It’s certainly not me. If you think you have legitimate power, you might want to rethink things.

Sometimes we just need to let it go and give up our worries and concerns to God. Do our best to take it one day at a time, handle what we can, but believe that God’s in control.

Leave a Reply

