You can’t handle the truth

The sad thing about the truth is sometimes, it hurts. When we do things that we know are wrong it’s easy to pass the buck. Hide the truth, water it down, or even victimize yourself to hid from the truth that you are the bully and your victims are the ones that suffer. When do we finally pull that trigger? When the lie is easier to swallow is when we side with the wrong side. The thing about lies is, they are cancer. The cancer spreads and infects every aspect of life. They pile up as you have to continue to keep track of what you said, who you said it to. Proverbs 6:16-19 “There are six things that the Lord hates, seven that are an abomination to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers.” 

You can chain someone, you can break their bones, you can try to take everything from someone, but you cannot take their spirit. You cannot take their faith. You cannot take from me what isn’t yours to take. Matthew 5:11 “Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. 12 Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”  Don’t let this world be your chains. Don’t let this world keep you in captivity. Jesus’s blood set you free, broke the chains of bondage so we could live. 

Be comforted knowing that some peoples inability to have faith, their lack of trust in the Lord is a sad state. Remember the old adage, “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink.” One thing is for certain, as my heritage is one of eternal salvation with the Father, know this… I will not be bought, I will not be broken, I will not be tempted by Satan. I may be human, but with every imperfect ounce of my blood I will fight back. I will not allow the Devil to control my actions even if those around me are on the attack. 1 Peter 5:8-14 Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world. 10 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. 11 To him be the dominion forever and ever. Amen.” 

The Truth is people fear God. They fear what they don’t understand. People fear they are not in control of their own lives. People fear that they are just puppets in this celestial or cosmic battle being waged in the shadows beyond what we can see. People see the need to lie, and cheat for their own personal gratification. I’m not perfect, I have human desires, I have human sin. We all sin, but before the end, I will be judged for the TRUTH that was my life. I will have to answer for every ill thought, every poor action, every word uttered out of my mouth. How will you be judged when the truth comes out at your trial before the Almighty God?

Leave a Reply

