The Archer

The Archer

The breeze flows over the ground and pushes the leaves across the earth. The man stands firm, feet planted, slow smooth breaths. The air fills the lungs, cool and crisp. The string is taught, the bow is lifted and the sight lines up. The air exhales from the lungs, the bow rests, and all three fingers release from the string at the same time. The bow jars forward slightly as the arrow is projected forward at 1535 fps. The arrow soars through the air, the sound of the thud hitting the target 35 yards away. Not everyone can be an archer, just as not everyone can be a soldier, not everyone can play football, or other sports. Our gifts are from God and we must learn to embrace the ones we have. Stop trying to be something or someone you aren’t. Love your gifts and make them the best you can.

Psalm 18 1-3 “I love you, O Lord, my strength.The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies.” Psalm 18 34-35 “He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. 35 You have given me the shield of your salvation, and your right hand supported me, and your gentleness made me great.” The archer is a long time tradition that crosses the globe. The Japanese have a word kyudo (way of the bow). It’s a martial arts form that uses, physical, moral and spiritual development. The myth of Odysseus’s wife Penelope using his bow to find her next husband, someone worthy who can string his legendary bow and shoot it. Archery can take years to master, but you can walk with Christ today.

Archers are warriors, hunters, protectors, they are one with nature. It takes great time and patience to become an archer. As for me, archery has become an important part of my life. Archery is a gift; it’s a passion that when used for mindfulness can allow quiet time with God. Every great army has a great battalion of archers. Today the roll of archers has turned into snipers with rifles. As Gods army has it’s soldiers, I am an archer for Christ, I am patient, aware, and accurate. As the devil uses his flaming arrows of lies and deceit, I shall use the words of the bible as my weapon for Christ. Draw back your bow and let every one of your senses take over. Let the arrows fly and let every one hit their target.

 

One thought on “The Archer

Leave a Reply

