Why Gamble with Eternity?

Why Gamble with Eternity?

 Atheists, Agnostics, and those sitting on the fence are often the ones I fear for most. Many have asked me why I believe in God. The answer is both simple and complicated at the same time. For me the belief in God has gone back to my early childhood. God has given me comfort, guidance, hope, and love through the most difficult of my hardships. Given the possible alternatives following Christ, having faith seems to be the bet. There is plenty of scripture describing hell. The time between the book of Psalms and the New Testament is 586 BC to 50 AD. From the time of the New and Old Testament the conversation of Hell and Salvation never faltered. “Revelation 21:8 “But the cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars—they will be consigned to the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death.” Then again in Matthew 25:46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.” All the way back David talked about the eternity of God, 600 years before Christ stepped foot on the planet. Psalm 9:17 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.” You’re talking truth in the writing that wasn’t accessible from Google. Truth was known in a time when Angels would talk to us, intervened in our lives. Today we don’t hear about Angels talking to us, but if we look closely, if we pay attention we can see the miracles when they happen. My life for instance is a miracle. I should have died but didn’t. My life was saved, and spared, and today I have this Blog, teaching and preaching about the Glory and Mercy that was given to me.

What are the stakes? Our lives, our souls are a high stakes poker game. Jesus Christ is our Royal Flush. If we follow him we win every time. John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” It seems like such a simple truth. It seems so easy doesn’t it? Follow Christ and that’s it, you’ve won the golden ticket. But wait, there’s more, then you have Matthew 27:21-23  “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ 23 And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.”

I bet that’s confusing huh? What Jesus is saying is God knows your heart. It doesn’t matter how much scripture is in your mind, it doesn’t matter how much you give to charity. What matters is what’s in your heart, truly knowing your salvation is in Christ.

Why then is this a high stakes poker game? What if you don’t believe, what if you question the existence of God because of a lack of proof, or a lack of faith? You could loose eternal life. If you are going to live as a good person, believe in a moral compass, then why not use the Bible as that source of strength and courage? All you have to loose is eternal life for eternal damnation. We must ask ourselves if we don’t know what our afterlife holds, then why not put our faith in the one true God. Even if this is a bunch of hoowey, so you live your life to an honorable code. In this world we worship idols, we worship money, relationships, careers, we put all of our faith in worldly things that will eventually get old, decay, fall apart, break, and it’s a deception. It’s not just enough to know Christ exists, it’s about serving, its about true faith. Even Satin knows God, knows scripture, but has nothing but contempt for his father. The Devil wants us to walk a sinful path, he wants us to loose everything by forcing us to fold.

The blind man see’s, the deaf man hears, the lame man talks, the crippled shall walk, the dead shall rise, all in the name of Jesus. The day the Lord spoke to me, a great weight was lifted from my chest. In this high stakes poker game I will beat the house every time because my deck is stacked. I have a Royal Flush every time. God has given me the tools, the knowledge, and has shown me a better way. I have faith and that faith lets me fly on eagle’s wings. There’s freedom in our scars, there’s freedom in our pain. Never forget to stand toe to toe with the Devil at the table he’s betting it all on your cards being cold. The Devil’s bluff is just another lie. Heaven is perfection for all eternity. Earth will fade away, but Heaven will remain. Maybe God is an interdimensional being, maybe heaven is an alternate universe, the question you need to ask yourself is does that matter? Just because it’s beyond our understanding doesn’t mean it isn’t truth. So pick up your poker chips, throw all in, and lay down that Royal Flush because Christ is the only Royalty we will ever need.

 

Leave a Reply

