A fisher of men/ Finding love in all the wrong places

A fisher of men/ Finding love in all the wrong places

This blog will be unique. It will be a two-part episode as it were. Days like today I find that writing may be the only escape. The silence is deafening, the lack of companionship is excruciating. To truly find oneself you often need to take a long deep look inside, but also a long deep gaze into the pages of the one book, the only book that matters, the Bible.

As some call our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ more then a man, what else was he? He was a Fisher Of Men. Matthew 4:19 “And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” Jesus sent his disciples out into the world to bring the good news of Christ to the world. The great commission, Matthew 28 19-20 “19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: 20 Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.” As good Christians we must learn to become fishers of Men/Women. We must learn how to approach people about Christ, learn how to talk about the good Lord. We must learn how to use Apologetics, to defend Christianity, and understand religious worldviews. Mark 16:15 “And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” A world fallen into sin may cause fear to be used by the Devil to dissuade you from continuing your path to Christ. The path to heaven is not for the weak, or the faint of heart. In our path to bring others into the fold is tough, but worth the attacks to expose others to everlasting life.

In the efforts in our walk with Christ we often fall victim to loneliness, depression, anxiety. Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” When we walk in the troubles of the world, we often find ourselves looking for comfort, companionship. We may loose our worldly loved ones, we may watch them leave our lives, hurt us, try to destroy our very lives, our reputations, but in all reality this is the Devils grasp on their heart. Often King David struggled with depression, anxiety, struggles with worldly desires, but in that deepest pain the book of Psalm’s was born. Psalm 23 “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” Do not be fooled, the Devils taunts are tough, the lies sound good, and when we need comfort, all manner of temptations will be thrown into our path. 1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.” We look for love, but if we are faithful to the Lord, the Lord will take care of us. John 14:23 “Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. 24 Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me.” Ephesians 5:1-2 “Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” Never forget where the true love in life comes from. John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” We are promised that our God is faithful, in that faith we must trust in the Lord. Genesis 2:18 “And the LORD God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.” God wants us to have a companion, though we must have faith and trust in the Lord. Do not seek love in ungodly men, or ungodly women. Do not seek love in the desires of the flesh, but in the righteous who follow the Lord. Have faith and be patient with God, for he will bless you for it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A fisher of men/ Finding love in all the wrong places

  1. One of the first concepts we learn in counseling is that we have to learn to sit peacefully with ourselves–we cannot depend on others for our happiness. This is not to say that we do not need fellowship, for God created us to be in fellowship. Solitude is also a necessary art, however–for everything there is a season. It is in solitude that we are most prone to hear the voice of God, Who speaks to us ever so gently on most occasions. Consequently, this is a skill we must cultivate. Fortunately, with God’s help, anything is possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

