Fighting Anxiety and Fear

I was asked recently why I kept my social anxiety a secret. As it was said to me recently my levels of anxiety probably saved my life in Iraq. The tough part I suppose is knowing how to flip the switch on and off. When someone suffers from anxiety the ramifications can be almost to much to bare. Proverbs 12:25 “Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad.” Often being in or around crowds is difficult. Not being able to provide my own security, my own ability to feel comfortable is compromised. For so long it was my life to rely on others. It’s difficult to change the mindset once it’s in place. Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” When struggling as I have, diving into the word does alleviate some of the stress, some of the struggles.

What does it mean to be afraid? What does it mean to fear the things others find so easy? When the thought of going out into public alone comes up, the feeling of my chest pounding, quick shallow breaths, a throbbing in my temples is an undesirable occurrence. James 1:2-4Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

Paul who suffered long wrote many of the most well known books in the bible. Finding peace is not to replace ones feelings, it’s not that easy, but as it’s written in Philippians 4:11-13 “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” Never stop fighting. Never let the world force you to give up or loose hope. Wherever you go, God is walking along side you. As we all bare our own burdens, we don’t have to bare them alone. Allow your brothers and sisters to help bare that burden. Give your heartache, your troubles to the Lord and never give up.

 

Leave a Reply

